From the City of Concord Facebook Page:
An exciting new historic interpretive panel has just been unveiled celebrating the glorious former Concord railroad station near the pocket park at the intersection of Storrs Street and Pleasant Street Extension. This location is very significant because the railroad station stood just footsteps away from where the panel has been erected.
The panel is full of wonderful information about the former railroad station that was sadly demolished in 1960, plus many historic photos and information about the vibrant railroad yard that once occupied this part of Concord before Storrs Street was built. The panel was developed as historic mitigation for the Sewalls Falls Bridge Project and was funded 80% with the State Bridge Aid and 20% with City funds.
The creation of the panel was a team effort with research and text by Elizabeth Durfee Hengen, graphic design by McFarland Johnson, panel construction by Advantage Signs, and coordination by the City of Concord Engineering Services Division.
The grand brick building was actually the city’s fourth station. Built in 1885 and designed by the legendary Bradford L. Gilbert, who also designed Grand Central Station (predecessor to today’s Grand Central Terminal) in New York City. Concord was a busy stop on the railroad, as during 1906 the Boston & Maine Railroad had 32 passenger trains in and out of the station. Inside the railroad had a Concord Coach on display in the waiting room. The stagecoach is now owned by the New Hampshire Historical Society.